Serving statewide coordinating and governing boards in developing and sustaining excellent systems of higher education.
 
SHEEO Higher Education Agency Contact Information
 

~~ Quick Links to SHEEO Agency Websites ~~

Governance Types of SHEEO Members (PDF)


Alabama
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
Gregory G. Fitch, Executive Director
100 North Union Street
P.O. Box 302000
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2000
Telephone: (334) 242-2123
Fax: (334) 242-0268
gregory.fitch@ache.alabama.gov
www.ache.state.al.us

Return to top

Alaska
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Diane Barrans, Executive Director
707 A Street, Suite 206
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505
Telephone: (907) 465-6740
Fax: (907) 465-3293
diane.barrans@alaska.gov
alaskadvantage.state.ak.us

Return to top

Alaska
University of Alaska System
Patrick K. Gamble, President
202 Butrovich
PO Box 755000
Fairbanks, Alaska 99775
Telephone: (907) 450-8009
Fax: (907) 450-8012
ua.president@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu

Return to top

Arizona
Arizona Board of Regents
Thomas K. Anderes, President
2020 North Central Avenue, Suite 230
Phoenix, Arizona 85004-4593
Telephone: (602) 229-2505
Fax: (602) 229-2555
tom.anderes@azregents.edu
www.azregents.edu

Return to top

Arkansas
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
Shane Broadway, Interim Director
114 East Capitol Ave
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Telephone: (501) 371-2031
Fax: (501) 371-2003
Shane.Broadway@adhe.edu
www.adhe.edu

Return to top

Colorado
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
David A. Longanecker, President
3035 Center Green Drive, Suite 200
Boulder, Colorado 80301-2204
Telephone: (303) 541-0204
Fax: (303) 541-0291
dlonganecker@wiche.edu
www.wiche.edu

Return to top

Colorado
Colorado Department of Higher Education
Joseph A. Garcia, Lt. Governor of Colorado, and Executive Director of CDHE
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 866-2723
Fax: (303) 866-4266
josephagarcia@state.co.us
highered.colorado.gov

Return to top

Connecticut
Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education
Philip Austin, Interim President
39 Woodland Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06105-2337
Telephone: (860) 493-0011
Fax: (860) 493-0009
nosalj@so.ct.edu
www.ctregents.org

Return to top

Connecticut
Connecticut Office of Higher Education
Jane A. Ciarleglio, Executive Director
61 Woodland Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06105-2326
Telephone: (860) 947-1801
Fax: (860) 947-1311
jciarleglio@ctohe.org
www.ctohe.org

Return to top

Delaware
Delaware Department of Education Higher Education Office
Maureen Laffey, Director
John G. Townsend Building
401 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware 19901
Telephone: (302) 735-4120
Fax: (302) 739-5894
mlaffey@doe.k12.de.us
www.doe.k12.de.us/dheo

Return to top

District of Columbia
Post-Secondary and Career Education
Emily Durso, Assistant Superintendent of Post-Secondary and Career Education
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
810 First Street NE 2nd Floor
Washington, District of Columbia 20002
Telephone: (202) 741-5529
Fax: (202) 741-0229
Emily.durso@dc.gov
www.osse.dc.gov

Return to top

Florida
State University System of Florida Board of Governors
Frank T. Brogan, Chancellor
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1614
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Telephone: (850) 245-0466
Fax: (850) 245-9685
frank.brogan@flbog.edu
www.flbog.org

Return to top

Georgia
Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia
Hank M. Huckaby, Chancellor
270 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Telephone: (404) 656-2202
Fax: (404) 657-6979
chancellor@usg.edu
www.usg.edu

Return to top

Georgia
Southern Regional Education Board
David S. Spence, President
592 10th Street NW
Atlanta, Georgia 30318-5776
Telephone: (404) 875-9211
Fax: (404) 872-1477
dave.spence@sreb.org
www.sreb.org

Return to top

Hawaii
University of Hawai`i System
M.R.C. Greenwood, President
2444 Dole Street, Bachman Hall 202
Honolulu, Hawaii 96822
Telephone: (808) 956-9704
Fax: (808) 956-9943
mrcgreenwood@hawaii.edu
www.hawaii.edu

Return to top

Idaho
Idaho State Board of Education
Michael Rush, Executive Director
650 West State Street, Room 307
Boise, Idaho 83702-5936
Telephone: (208) 332-1565
Fax: (208) 334-2632
mike.rush@osbe.idaho.gov
www.boardofed.idaho.gov

Return to top

Illinois
Illinois Board of Higher Education
Harry Berman, Interim Executive Director
431 East Adams, 2nd Floor
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1404
Telephone: (217) 782-2551
Fax: (217) 782-8548
berman@ibhe.org
www.ibhe.org

Return to top

Indiana
Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Teresa Lubbers, Commissioner
101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-1984
Telephone: (317) 464-4400
Fax: (317) 464-4410
teresal@che.in.gov
www.in.gov/che

Return to top

Iowa
Board of Regents, State of Iowa
Robert Donley, Executive Director
11260 Aurora Avenue
Urbandale, Iowa 50322-7905
Telephone: (515) 281-6426
Fax: (515) 281-6420
bdonley@iastate.edu
www.regents.iowa.gov

Return to top

Kansas
Kansas Board of Regents
Andy Tompkins, President and CEO
1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 520
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1368
Telephone: (785) 296-3421
Fax: (785) 296-0983
atompkins@ksbor.org
www.kansasregents.org

Return to top

Kentucky
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
Robert L. King, President
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Telephone: (502) 573-1652
Fax: (502) 573-1535
Robert.King@ky.gov
www.cpe.ky.gov

Return to top

Louisiana
Louisiana Board of Regents
James Purcell, Commissioner of Higher Education
P.O. Box 3677
1201 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3677
Telephone: (225) 342-4253
Fax: (225) 342-9318
jim.purcell@la.gov
www.regents.state.la.us

Return to top

Maine
University of Maine System
James H. Page, Chancellor
16 Central Street
Bangor, Maine 04401
Telephone: (207) 973-3205
Fax: (207) 973-3296
jpage@maine.edu
www.maine.edu

Return to top

Maryland
Maryland Higher Education Commission
Danette Howard, Secretary of Higher Education
6 N. Liberty St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Telephone: (410) 767-3301
Fax:
dhoward@mhec.state.md.us
www.mhec.state.md.us

Return to top

Massachusetts
New England Board of Higher Education
Michael K. Thomas, President and Chief Executive Officer
45 Temple Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02111
Telephone: (617) 357-9620
Fax: (617) 338-1692
mthomas@nebhe.org
www.nebhe.org

Return to top

Massachusetts
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Richard M. Freeland, Commissioner
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, Massachusetts 02108-1696
Telephone: (617) 994-6901
Fax: (617) 727-6397
rfreeland@bhe.mass.edu
www.mass.edu

Return to top

Minnesota
Minnesota State Colleges & Universities
Steven J. Rosenstone, Chancellor
Wells Fargo Place
30 7th St. E., Suite 350
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-7804
Telephone: (651) 201-1696
Fax: (651) 297-3312
steven.rosenstone@so.mnscu.edu
www.mnscu.edu

Return to top

Minnesota
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Larry Pogemiller, Director
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
St. Paul, Minnesota 55108-5227
Telephone: (651) 259-3900
Fax: (651) 642-0597
larry.pogemiller@state.mn.us
www.ohe.state.mn.us

Return to top

Minnesota
Midwestern Higher Education Compact
Larry Isaak, President
1300 S Second Street, Suite 130
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55454-1079
Telephone: (612) 626-8292
Fax: (612) 626-8290
larryi@mhec.org
www.mhec.org/MHECHomePage

Return to top

Mississippi
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
Hank M. Bounds, Commissioner of Higher Education
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, Mississippi 39211-6453
Telephone: (601) 432-6198
Fax: (601) 432-6972
hbounds@ihl.state.ms.us
www.ihl.state.ms.us

Return to top

Missouri
Missouri Department of Higher Education
David R. Russell, Commissioner of Higher Education
205 Jefferson Street
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-1469
Telephone: (573) 751-1876
Fax: (573) 751-6635
David.Russell@dhe.mo.gov
www.dhe.mo.gov

Return to top

Montana
Montana University System
Clayton Christian, Commissioner of Higher Education
2500 Broadway Street
P.O. Box 203201
Helena, Montana 59620-3201
Telephone: (406) 444-0374
Fax: (406) 444-1469
cchristian@montana.edu
mus.edu

Return to top

Nebraska
Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Marshall A. Hill, Executive Director
140 North 8th Street, Suite 300
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5005
Telephone: (402) 471-2847
Fax: (402) 471-2886
Marshall.Hill@nebraska.gov
www.ccpe.state.ne.us/PublicDoc/CCPE/Default.asp

Return to top

Nevada
Nevada System of Higher Education
Daniel J. Klaich, Chancellor
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, Nevada 89512-1666
Telephone: (775) 784-3222
Fax: (775) 784-1127
dklaich@nevada.edu
system.nevada.edu

Return to top

New Hampshire
New Hampshire Division of Higher Education - Higher Education Commission
Richard A. Gustafson, Division Director
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-0256
Fax: (603) 271-1953
richard.gustafson@doe.nh.gov
www.education.nh.gov/highered

Return to top

New Hampshire
University System of New Hampshire
Edward R. MacKay, Chancellor
25 Concord Road, Dunlap Center
Durham, New Hampshire 03824-3545
Telephone: (603) 862-0918
Fax: (603) 862-0908
ed.mackay@usnh.edu
www.usnh.edu

Return to top

New Jersey
New Jersey Higher Education
Rochelle Hendricks, Secretary of Higher Education
20 West State Street, 4th Floor
Trenton, New Jersey 08608-1206
Telephone: (609) 292-8052
Fax: (609) 292-7225
rochelle.hendricks@njhe.state.nj.us
www.state.nj.us/highereducation/

Return to top

New Mexico
New Mexico Higher Education Department
José Z. Garcia, Cabinet Secretary
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-2100
Telephone: (505) 476-8404
Fax: (505) 476-8454
jose.garcia@state.nm.us
www.hed.state.nm.us

Return to top

New York
New York State Education Department, Office of Higher Education
John D’Agati, Deputy Commissioner
Room 977, Education Building Annex
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Telephone: (518) 486-3633
Fax: (518) 486-2254
jdagati@mail.nysed.gov
www.highered.nysed.gov/

Return to top

North Carolina
University of North Carolina
Thomas W. Ross, President
910 Raleigh Road, PO Box 2688
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27514-2688
Telephone: (919) 962-4622
Fax: (919) 843-9695
tomross@northcarolina.edu
www.northcarolina.edu

Return to top

North Dakota
North Dakota University System
H.A. Shirvani, Chancellor
10th Floor, State Capitol
600 East Boulevard Ave, Dept. 215
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0230
Telephone: (701) 328-2963
Fax:
ham.shirvani@ndus.edu
www.ndus.edu/default.asp

Return to top

Ohio
Ohio Board of Regents
James Petro, Chancellor
30 East Broad Street, Floor 36
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3414
Telephone: (614) 466-0965
Fax: (614) 466-5866
jpetro@regents.state.oh.us
www.ohiohighered.org

Return to top

Oklahoma
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
Glen D. Johnson, Chancellor
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104
Telephone: (405) 225-9100
Fax: (405) 225-9230
gjohnson@osrhe.edu
www.okhighered.org/

Return to top

Oregon
Oregon University System
George Pernsteiner, Chancellor
1431 Johnson Lane
Eugene, Oregon 97403-0175
Telephone: (541) 346-5703
Fax: (541) 346-5764
george_pernsteiner@ous.edu
www.ous.edu

Return to top

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education
John C. Cavanaugh, Chancellor
Dixon University Center
2986 North Second Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-1201
Telephone: (717) 720-4010
Fax: (717) 720-4011
jcavanaugh@passhe.edu
www.passhe.edu

Return to top

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Department of Education - Office of Postsecondary and Higher Education
L. Jill Hans, Deputy Secretary
333 Market Street, 12th Floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-0333
Telephone: (717) 787-5041
Fax: (717) 772-3622
jhans@pa.gov
www.education.state.pa.us

Return to top

Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico Council on Education
Carmen Luz Berríos Rivera, Executive Director
PO Box 19900
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00910-19900
Telephone: (787) 641-7100
Fax: (787) 641-2573
cberrios@ce.pr.gov
www.de.gobierno.pr/

Return to top

Rhode Island
Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education
Ray M. Di Pasquale, Commissioner of RIBGHE and President of Community College of Rhode Island
The Shepard Building
80 Washington Street, Suite 450
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
Telephone: (401) 456-6002
Fax: (401) 456-6028
rmdipasquale@ccri.edu
www.ribghe.org

Return to top

South Carolina
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
Julie J. Carullo, Acting Executive Director
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
Telephone: (803) 737-2292
Fax: (803) 737-2297
jcarullo@che.sc.gov
www.che.sc.gov

Return to top

South Dakota
South Dakota Board of Regents
Jack R. Warner, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2545
Telephone: (605) 773-3455
Fax: (605) 773-5320
JackW@sdbor.edu
www.sdbor.edu

Return to top

Tennessee
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director
404 James Robertson Parkway
Parkway Towers, Suite 1900
Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0830
Telephone: (615) 741-7561
Fax: (615) 741-6230
richard.rhoda@tn.gov
www.state.tn.us/thec/

Return to top

Texas
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Raymund A. Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education
1200 East Anderson Lane, PO Box 12788
Austin, Texas 78752
Telephone: (512) 427-6101
Fax: (512) 427-6127
raymund.paredes@thecb.state.tx.us
www.thecb.state.tx.us/

Return to top

Utah
Utah System of Higher Education
David L. Buhler, Commissioner
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101-1284
Telephone: (801) 321-7162
Fax: (801) 321-7156
dbuhler@utahsbr.edu
www.utahsbr.edu

Return to top

Vermont
The University of Vermont
Thomas Sullivan, President
85 South Prospect Street
344-353 Waterman Building
Burlington, Vermont 05405
Telephone: (802) 656-7878
Fax: (802) 656-9220
Thomas.Sullivan@uvm.edu
www.uvm.edu

Return to top

Vermont
Vermont State Colleges
Timothy J. Donovan, Chancellor
Office of the Chancellor
P.O. Box 7
Montpelier, Vermont 05601
Telephone: (802) 224-3000
Fax: (802) 224-3035
tim.donovan@vsc.edu
www.vsc.edu

Return to top

Virginia
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
Peter Blake, Director
101 North 14th Street
James Monroe Building, 10th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Telephone: (804) 225-2611
Fax: (804) 225-2908
peterblake@schev.edu
schev.edu

Return to top

Washington
Washington Student Achievement Council
Donald Bennett, Executive Director
917 Lakeridge Way
Olympia, Washington 98504
Telephone: (360) 753-7810
Fax: (360) 753-7808
donb@wsac.wa.gov
wsac.wa.gov

Return to top

West Virginia
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
Paul L. Hill, Chancellor
1018 Kanawha Blvd E, Suite 700
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
Telephone: (304) 558-0699
Fax: (304) 558-5719
chancellor@hepc.wvnet.edu
www.hepc.wvnet.edu/

Return to top

Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin System
Kevin P. Reilly, President
1720 Van Hise Hall - 1220 Linden Drive
Madison, Wisconsin 53706
Telephone: (608) 262-2321
Fax: (608) 262-3985
kreilly@uwsa.edu
www.wisconsin.edu/

Return to top

Wyoming
Wyoming Community College Commission
James O. Rose, Executive Director
2020 Carey Avenue, 8th Floor
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
Telephone: (307) 777-7763
Fax: (307) 777-6567
jrose@commission.wcc.edu
www.communitycolleges.wy.edu

Return to top

Wyoming
University of Wyoming
Thomas Buchanan, President
Old Main Room 206
1000 E University Ave, Dept 3434
Laramie, Wyoming 82071
Telephone: (307) 766-4121
Fax: (307) 766-4126
tombuch@uwyo.edu
www.uwyo.edu/

Return to top